Photo: Samantha Wilson

Photo: Samantha Wilson


Board of Directors


Doug Scudder

President: Doug Scudder

Doug was born and raised on Cape Cod Massachusetts. He moved to Juneau in 1983 and has worked as a Financial Advisor since 1992. He is an avid hiker and enjoys all sorts of outdoor activities including golf, shooting and camping. Doug and his wife Charlotte believe in giving to the community and make numerous annual donations to local charities.

Vice President: Ron Bressette

Ron has been hiking the trails of Juneau since his arrival in 1975 from the Buffalo, New York area.  Being able to get out on the trails with his wife Cathy and, especially these days, his granddaughter is part of what makes Juneau such a great place to live. After a 34-year career with the Alaska Marine Highway System, his retirement years afford him an opportunity to become a member of the Board and help promote the mission of Trail Mix.


Helen Hesson

Treasurer: Helen Hesson

Helen Hesson, born Elena Aleksandrovna Aksyonova, in Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Russia, grew up in one of the most beautiful parts of the planet. She attended a high school in Amarillo, Texas while on a student exchange program and while there, grew to appreciate the differences between American and Russian cultures. At 17 years old, she moved to Juneau where she was accepted to the University of Alaska Southeast and received her Bachelors of Business Administration in 2004. A Certified Public Accountant, Helen works at the Department of Education School Finance and in her spare time enjoys hikes with her son and being a volunteer accountant and Board Treasurer for Trailmix, Inc.



Dave Haas

Secretary: Dave Haas

Dave moved to Juneau from Wisconsin in 1979, joined SEADOGS and volunteered as a certified dog handler/search team member for 8 years. He’s also an active hiker, hunter, mt. biker, jogger, ski groomer and skier. He worked in all branches of government during his career and culminated with teaching classrooms in grades 3-5 from 1992 – 2002 and then was a PE teacher from 2002 – 2010. Coinciding with retirement in 2010 Dave became a Trail Mix Board member and has been the Secretary since 2011. As Secretary he manages the Trail Mix membership base and in 2016 started a volunteer trail maintenance team to assist the city, state and USFS with their trail maintenance.


Members at Large:

Rebecca Brooks

Rebecca Brooks

Born and raised in Juneau, Rebecca has been enjoying the outdoors from a very young age. Besides hiking, Rebecca also loves fishing, snowboarding, swimming, cross country skiing, running, jewelry making, and spending time with her family. Rebecca joined the Trail Mix board in 2015 and her favorite trail is Granite Creek.

Jack Kreinheder

Jack Kreinheder

Jack Kreinheder joined the Trail Mix board in 2010. He has lived in Juneau for over 35 years and enjoys hiking, mountain biking, trail running, and cross country skiing on Juneau’s trails. The Treadwell Ditch trail is Jack’s favorite trail. He retired in 2011 from a career with the State of Alaska and now keeps himself busy with volunteering for several nonprofit organizations and doing volunteer trail work.


Patrick Courtnage

Patrick was brought on to the Trail Mix board summer of 2016. Born and raised in Montana, hiking and outdoors life flows deep. After a 4-year stint making movies in Hollywood and two years in banking, Patrick found himself moving up to Juneau to start the guiding company Adventure Flow. Patrick hopes to help Trail Mix by integrating new technology systems. His favorite trail is bushwhacking and likes huckleberry ice cream.


Mark Pusich

Mark Pusich

Mark Pusich was appointed to the Trail Mix board in January 2015. As a born and raised Douglasite, Mark returned to Juneau after graduating from Oregon State University to begin his civil engineering career. Mark has enjoyed hiking, mountain biking and trail running on Juneau and Douglas trails since his youth and continues to do so today. His wife Carrie, daughter Hailey, son Jeffery and dog Lucky are also trail enthusiasts and are appreciative of the trails that Juneau has to offer. Mark is a board member of the Douglas Dornan Foundation, JDHS assistant baseball coach, JDHS ACE academy advisor and former CBJ Planning Commissioner/Chairman.

Samantha Wilson

Samantha Wilson

Samantha Wilson made her first trek to Juneau over 10 years ago, and now proudly calls Juneau home. One of the main attractions in Juneau are the incredible hiking trails. Sam loves to explore Juneau’s trail system in all seasons of the year, on skis, bike, and most of all hiking out for a night camping with friends. She looks forward to working with Trail Mix and meeting new faces on the trail.


Aidan Ling

Aidan had the good fortune to be raised in Juneau, Alaska. He began work on a Trail Mix crew in 2014 and has maintained a connection with Trail Mix ever since. Having joined the board in early 2018, Aidan is a new member and is excited and honored to serve. He enjoys most forms of hiking and camping as well as his work as a news producer at 360 North. His favorite trail is Mt. Juneau and he also enjoys science fiction novels and a stiff drink.


Agency Representatives:

Brent Fischer, CBJ Parks and Rec.

Vacant, Alaska State Parks

Mike Dilger, US Forest Service


Executive Director:
Erik Boraas